--About Us
--Contact Information
--Back to cover page
Tagbilaran City, Bohol, Philippines
July 11, 2010 issue

Charm offensive not money makes Mayor Lim-Imboy as new mayors' league prexy


The word is out that Mayor Rosemarie “May” Lim-Imboy won the lopsided presidency of the League of Municipalities, Bohol chapter, on the strength of a “charm offensive”. In a 33-12 score card, the beauty and brain lady mayor, bested her opponent Danao Mayor Louis Thomas Gonzaga in a one-sided contest that has become a “fait accompli” even before the first ballot was counted. Despite Mayor Lim-Imboy's victory, tongues were wagging that money changed hands to ensure her victory.. As much as P35,000 reportedly was given to each mayor to clinch the victory for the Loay mayor. The mayor allegedly spent P1.6 million to win the presidency but this was immediately denied saying “where in heaven's name would she get such a huge amount”. As the LMP election winner was quick to douse cold water to the vote-buying insinuation, Mayor Lim-Imboy said if she won the contest, it was on the basis of her performance as one-term Loay mayor. But jaded political pundits insisted that what went right with Mayor Lim-Imboy's bid was her indefatigable trait as a tireless campaigner when she used to full advantage her built-in charm. Whether her bid was propelled with money or otherwise, what is uncontestable was that the lady mayor was well-loved among her peers in the league knowing her down-to-earth disposition.

In fact, several mayors wondered how such a lady born with a silver platter can be as approachable and easy to go along with as Ms. Lim-Imboy. Her performance as Loay mayor was also a major factor in winning the hearts and minds of most of the mayors. During her first term after being elected for the first time in 2007, Mayor Imboy transformed the physical landscape of her municipality notable of them the improvement of the Loay Commercial Port. With P45 million she secured from the Philippine Ports Authority and former agriculture secretary Arthur Yap, she improved the once dilapidated Loay port into a modern fishing port facility. Other tangible infrastructures now obtaining in Loay were the changing façade of the Loay Public Market, the Loay People's Center and the Loay Waterworks System which was equipped with a state-of-the-art filtration system, to name a few.  


 Those who were elected to other positions without necessarily being voted upon included: Trinidad Mayor Roberto Cajes, executive vice-president; Albur Mayor Efren Tungol, VP for 1 st district; Clarin Mayor Rey Allen Piezas, VP for 2 nd district; and Pilar Mayor Wilson Pajo, VP for 3 rd district. Neophyte Mabini lady Mayor Esther Tabigue was chosen as secretary; Panglao Mayor Benedicto Alcala, treasurer; Cortes Mayor Jasmine Balistoy, auditor; and Balilihan Mayor Dominicio Chatto, neophyte Talibon Mayor Restituto Auxtero, and Candijay Mayor Sergio Amora, Jr., all public relations officers. The board of directors was composed of outgoing LMP president Catigbian Mayor Bert Salinas, Maribojoc Mayor Leoncio Evasco, Ubay Mayor Eutiquio Bernales, neophyte Duero Mayor Ocay, neophyte Jagna Mayor Fortunato Abrenilla, Dimiao Mayor Sylvia Adame, neophyte Bilar Mayor Norman Palacio and neophyte Sagbayan Mayor Ricardo Suarez. Loon Mayor Dr. Lloyd Lopez declined the nomination for member of the BOD. Comebacking Corella Mayor Nicanor Tocmo, Calape Mayor Sulpicio Yu and DILG provincial director Rose Mascarinas served as members of the election committee that presided over the conduct of the election. (RVO)

The Bohol Sunday Post, copyright 2006 - 2010, All Rights Reserved
For comments & sugestions please email: